The Strathmere group presents inaugural Environmental Leadership Award

The Strathmere group, an assembly of the heads of eleven of Canada’s leading environmental organizations,¹ met in Winnipeg on October 25, 2010 to present its inaugural Environmental Leadership Award. This honour was given to Manitoba Premier Greg Selinger and Pimachiowin Aki Inc. for their efforts in promoting the Pimachiowin Aki World Heritage Project.
The project site spans more than 40,000 square kilometers of boreal forest from the eastern shore of Lake Winnipeg into northern Ontario, and encompasses the traditional lands of four First Nations, as well as two large wilderness provincial parks. First Nations in Manitoba and Ontario, with the support of both provinces, have submitted a bid to establish the area as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.
The Strathmere group is a Foundation-funded initiative managed by the Pembina Institute.
The Environmental Leadership Award recognizes outstanding vision, initiative and action to protect Canadian natural heritage and ecosystem health, prevent environmental degradation, or promote progressive, clean energy solutions.

¹ Bob Oliver from Pollution Probe, Bruce Cox from Greenpeace, Eric Hebert-Daly from CPAWS, Gerald Butts from WWF Canada, Ian Davidson from Nature Canada, John Bennett from the Sierra Club of Canada, Marlo Raynolds from The Pembina Institute, Peter Robinson from the David Suzuki Foundation, Rick Smith from Environmental Defence, Sidney Ribaux from Equiterre, and Devon Page from Ecojustice.