À propos de l’organisme

L’Institute for Sustainable Finance est le tout premier carrefour transversal et collaboratif au Canada qui fusionne le milieu universitaire, le secteur privé et le gouvernement dans l’unique but d’accroître la capacité de finance durable du pays. La mission de l’ISF consiste à harmoniser les grands marchés financiers et la transition du Canada vers une économie durable prospère.

En investissant dans l’éducation, la formation professionnelle, la recherche et les partenariats, l’ISF aide à créer les conditions optimales pour un leadership canadien dans le domaine de la finance durable. Situé dans la Smith School of Business de l’Université Queen’s, l’ISF vise à combler les lacunes en matière de données pertinentes, d’expertise et de solutions d’affaires liées à la finance durable.

Description de la subvention

La subvention servira à appuyer le Capital Mobilization Plan et le Climate Finance Data Analytics Lab de l’ISF. Le Royaume-Uni et d’autres pays européens possèdent de nombreuses initiatives pour orienter les investissements et les politiques de façon à amener le secteur de la finance vers des investissements faibles en carbone, mais ce n’est pas le cas au Canada. Le labo de l’ISF a donc pour objectifs de réaliser et diffuser de la recherche, de soutenir la collaboration entre le gouvernement, le milieu universitaire et le secteur financier, et de proposer un ensemble de programmes éducatifs sur la finance durable. Des banques, des compagnies d’assurance et le gouvernement fédéral collaborent déjà avec le Climate Finance Data Analytics Lab de l’ISF, ce qui est un premier indice de sa pertinence.

Background of the organization

The Institute for Sustainable Finance is the first-ever cross-cutting and collaborative hub in Canada that fuses academia, the private sector, and government with the singular focus of increasing Canada’s sustainable finance capacity. The institute’s mission is to align mainstream financial markets with Canada’s transition to a prosperous sustainable economy.

By investing in education, professional training, research, and partnerships, the ISF helps create the critical conditions for Canadian leadership on sustainable finance. Housed at Smith School of Business at Queen’s University, the Institute aims to fill the gap of relevant data, expertise, and business-oriented solutions for sustainable finance.

Grant Description

Funds from this grant will be used to support the ISF’s Capital Mobilization Plan and Climate Finance Data Analytics Lab. While the UK and other European countries have many initiatives to guide investments and policies to shift the financial sector towards low-carbon investments, Canada currently lacks them. The ISF Lab’s objectives are to conduct and disseminate research; support collaboration among governments, academia and the financial sector; and offer a suite of sustainable finance education programs. As an early indication of the ISF’s relevance, banks, insurance companies and the federal government are already collaborating with ISF’s Climate Finance Data Analytics Lab.