Reports

Reports

June 2007

Voluntary Sector Contributions to Public Education in Canada: A Discussion Paper

by Jodene Dunleavy

This report was written as a discussion paper for the forum Re-Connecting Schools and Communities: Students as Citizens, an event co-hosted by the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation’s Social Innovation Generation initiative and the Canadian Education Association in June 2007.

The general goal of the report is to map out the landscape of voluntary sector contributions to the Canadian public education system. The outcome of this process is a clear picture of the incredible number of points where the education and voluntary sectors intersect in schools and school systems across Canada.

The map of education-voluntary sector intersections presented in the following pages is - like any map - a guide for embarking on a journey that allows travelers to explore both new and familiar landscapes in greater detail. In keeping with the visions of both the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation and the Canadian Education Association, this report is a starting point for a journey toward longer term dialogue about the potential of education-voluntary sector partnerships for fostering a culture of continuous innovation and strategic collaboration focused on inclusion, engagement and community resilience, and the creation of opportunities for learning in schools and communities to nurture the development of all young Canadians.

Download the Report

Tags: Innovation, Community Service-Learning, Sustainability Education

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Qu├ębec H3A 3L6

Site by Plank

Bulletins

Bulletins

Juin 2007

Apport du secteur bénévole à l'enseignement public au Canada Document de travail

par Jodene Dunleavy

Ce rapport a été rédigé comme document de travail pour le forum Re-Connecting Schools and Communities: Students as Citizens, tenu en juin 2007 et organisé conjointement par l’initiative Génération de l’innovation sociale de La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell et par l’Association canadienne d’éducation.

Le principal objectif du rapport est d’inventorier les contributions du secteur bénévole à l’enseignement public au Canada. Le résultat est une image précise du nombre incroyable de points où se croisent le secteur bénévole et celui de l’éducation dans les écoles et les systèmes scolaires canadiens.

La carte des points d’intersection entre les secteurs éducatif et bénévole présentée dans les pages qui suivent est, comme toute carte, un guide de voyage qui permet d’explorer plus en détail des paysages tant nouveaux que familiers. Conforme aux visions respectives de La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell et de l’Association canadienne d’éducation, ce rapport se veut le point de départ d’un dialogue à plus long terme sur la capacité de partenariats éducation-secteur bénévole de promouvoir une culture d’innovation et de collaboration stratégique continues axée sur l’inclusion, l’engagement et la résilience communautaire, ainsi que la création de possibilités d’apprentissage dans les écoles et les communautés favorisant le développement de tous les jeunes Canadiens.

Télécharger: Bulletin

Tags: Innovation, Apprentissage par le service communautaire, Éducation pour un avenir durable

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6

Site par Plank