Solutions Finance

Solutions Finance at McConnell

The Foundation has supported the development of the social finance marketplace in Canada since 2007. The field is maturing and we’ve seen a growing community of practice emerge that is interested in the use of financial innovation for systems change. As our experience and practice expand, and we witness the evolution of markets, we recognize that the promise and potential of this work goes beyond impact investing.

We recognize that successful systems innovation requires adequate resourcing of various kinds - financial and non-financial - involving different forms of capital allocation across multiple stages of design and implementation. In the context of our work, we’re advocating for — and adopting as our own practice — an integrated approach to deploying financial capital and adapting financial models to catalyze, sustain and scale systems transformation. In other words, Solutions Finance.

Click here to view our impact investing portfolio Integrating Assets


Complimentary programs

Social Finance enables charities and non-profit organizations to diversify their approaches, access new sources of capital and increase their impact. However, it is not a panacea. Training, coaching and targeted granting support can help organizations determine whether specific tools are relevant to their needs, and ensure that they are successfully adopted. The Foundation has launched two programs to help organizations select from a growing number of options for diversifying their approach to achieving their missions – some of which are financial in nature. 
 

       

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Québec H3A 3L6

Finance des solutions

La finance des solutions à McConnell

La fondation appuie le développement du marché canadien de la finance sociale depuis 2007. Grâce à nos réussites, mais aussi nos échecs, nous avons appris beaucoup sur la manière d’obtenir un impact social et environnemental positif combiné à un rendement financier. Par contre, le secteur évolue et nous avons récemment vu apparaître une communauté de pratiques croissante qui souhaite utiliser l’innovation financière pour changer les systèmes.

Il faut deux choses pour des systèmes novateurs efficaces : un ressourcement adéquat et de nouveaux moyens d’attribuer du capital durant les nombreuses étapes de conception et de mise en œuvre. Pour y arriver dans le contexte de notre travail, nous défendons et adoptons comme pratique une approche intégrée qui implique l’utilisation de capital financier et l’adaptation de modèles financiers pour catalyser, soutenir et accroître la transformation des systèmes. En d’autres mots, nous défendons et adoptons la finance des solutions.

       

Cliquer ici pour voir nos investissements d'impact 

   

Aider les organismes communautaires à devenir plus efficaces

La finance sociale permet aux organismes de bienfaisance et sans but lucratif de diversifier leurs approches, d’accéder à de nouvelles sources de capital et d’augmenter leur impact. Toutefois, ce n’est pas une panacée. La formation, le mentorat et un soutien financier ciblé peuvent les aider à déterminer si des outils particuliers peuvent répondre à leurs besoins et à s’assurer qu’ils sont utilisés efficacement. La fondation a lancé deux programmes afin d’aider les organismes à choisir, parmi un nombre croissant d’options, celles qui leur permettraient de diversifier leur approche pour remplir leur mission. Certaines sont de nature financière.

       

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6