Indigenous-Focused Philanthropy

Indigenous-Focused Philanthropy

In 2002 Cindy Blackstock wrote a seminal paper1 documenting a pervasive and regrettable lack of engagement between First Nations and Canada’s voluntary sector.

Taking this as our starting point, the Foundation worked with the organization that Cindy leads—the First Nations Child and Family Caring Society of Canada—to develop Caring Across Boundaries, a cross cultural curriculum designed to forge partnerships between on-reserve child and family serving agencies and voluntary sector organizations. 

Today, a principal focus of our granting is Indigenous youth—the fastest growing segment of Canada’s population. Unfortunately, the lack of high quality, culturally relevant education in many Indigenous schools perpetuates a cycle of failure and poverty for many young people.

The collective effort needed to address this problem begins with raising awareness, and continues with deliberate and considerate action and innovation in partnership with Indigenous communities and others.

Here is a selection of current and recent grants and initiatives:

The Circle on Philanthropy and Aboriginal Peoples in Canada
The Foundation is a founding member and supporter of The Circle on Philanthropy and Aboriginal Peoples in Canada (The Circle), an open network that promotes philanthropic partnerships with Indigenous organizations across Canada.

Wapikoni mobile
A 2012 Foundation grant to Wapikoni Mobile supports the scaling up of its mobile music and video production program with Indigenous communities outside of Quebec.

Changemakers Competition: Inspiring Approaches to First Nations, Métis and Inuit Learning, which launched October 2011, is an initiative of Ashoka Canada, Indigenous organizations, and several foundation partners. The competition solicited innovative projects and ideas and attracted 266 entries, 30 of which took home a share of $90,000 in prizes. Award winners were announced March 2012 and celebrated at a national summit in Gatineau from April 16-18, 2012.

Martin Aboriginal Education Initiative: Promising Practices Website
The Foundation supports this on-line clearinghouse whose purpose is to foster the exchange of promising classroom practices and research. 

Free the Children: Aboriginal Education Campaign
A Foundation grant to Free the Children (FTC) supports outreach to non-Indigenous youth about living conditions in Indigenous communities, and shortcomings affecting Indigenous schools. Nine hundred non-Indigenous schools are now using the materials produced by FTC, while their signature We Day events involve over 60,000 Indigenous and non-Indigenous youth annually.

Dechinta: Bush University Centre for Research and Learning
In 2011 and 2012, the Foundation provided support to Dechinta: Bush University Centre for Research and Learning, a northern-led initiative delivering land-based, university credited educational experiences co-led by northern leaders, elders, and professors from partner universities in the south.

Active Circle – Motivate Canada
In 2007 the Foundation funded the Active Circle program (through Motivate Canada) to support community sport programs in 40 Indigenous communities.

In addition to these specific grants, several Foundation initiatives, such as ArtsSmarts and Respite for Family Caregivers, supported Indigenous projects and communities. 

Resources

  1. Same country: Same lands; 78 Countries Away by Cindy Blackstock from The First Peoples Child & Family Review: Volume 2, Issue 1 (2005)
The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Québec H3A 3L6

Philanthropie Destinée aux Autochtones

Philanthropie Destinée aux Autochtones

En 2002, Cindy Blackstock a signé un article pionnier1 documentant un manque d’engagement regrettable, et qui se fait sentir un peu partout, entre les Premières nations et le secteur bénévole canadien.

S’en inspirant comme point de départ, la fondation s’est alliée à l’organisme dirigé par Cindy—la Société de soutien à l’enfance et à la famille des Premières nations du Canada—afin de développer Entraide sans frontières, programme interculturel conçu pour former des partenariats entre des organismes de service aux enfants et aux familles vivant dans les réserves et des organismes du secteur bénévole.

À l’heure actuelle, notre financement cible surtout la jeunesse autochtone—le segment de la population canadienne en plus forte expansion. Malheureusement, le manque d’éducation de qualité et culturellement pertinente dans de nombreuses écoles autochtones perpétue un cycle d’échec et de pauvreté chez bon nombre de jeunes.

L’effort collectif nécessaire pour redresser la situation commence par une meilleure sensibilisation, suivie d’une action délibérée et songée ainsi que d’innovation en partenariat avec des communautés autochtones et d’autres parties intéressées.

Voici une sélection de subventions et d’initiatives récentes ou en cours:

The Circle on Philanthropy and Aboriginal Peoples in Canada
Membre fondateur, la fondation soutient The Circle on Philanthropy and Aboriginal Peoples in Canada (The Circle). Ce réseau ouvert encourage les partenariats philanthropiques avec des organismes autochtones de partout au Canada.

Wapikoni mobile
La fondation à attribué une subvention en 2012 à Wapikoni mobile pour soutenir la mise en échelle de son programme de production musicale et audiovisuelle mobile avec les communautés autochtones hors Québec.

Concours Changemakers : Approches inspirantes pour l’éducation des Premières nations, des Métis et des Inuits, initiative d’Ashoka Canada, d’organismes autochtones et de plusieurs fondations partenaires lancée en octobre 2011. Le concours, qui sollicitait des projets novateurs et des idées originales, a attiré 266 propositions dont 30 se partageront 90 000 $ en prix. Les gagnants ont été annoncés en mars 2012 et célébrés à l’occasion d’un sommet national tenu à Gatineau du 16 au 18 avril 2012.

Initiative d’éducation autochtone Martin : page web Pratiques exemplaires en éducation autochtone
La fondation soutient ce carrefour en ligne dont le but est de favoriser l’échange sur les méthodes d’enseignement les plus prometteuses et la recherche.

Enfants entraide : Campagne pour l’éducation des Autochtones
La subvention de la fondation à Enfants entraide (EE) soutient les activités de sensibilisation des jeunes non autochtones aux conditions de vie des communautés autochtones et aux lacunes de l’enseignement dispensé dans leurs établissements scolaires. Neuf cents écoles non autochtones utilisent le matériel produit par EE et l’événement signature Unis pour l’action rassemble une fois l’an plus de 60 000 jeunes autochtones et non autochtones.

Dechinta: Bush University Centre for Research and Learning
En 2011 et 2012, la fondation a fourni un soutien financier au Dechinta: Bush University Centre for Research and Learning. Cette initiative lancée par les nations nordiques et offrant des expériences éducatives in situ donnant droit à des crédits universitaires est codirigée par des leaders et des sages des Premières nations et par des professeurs d’universités partenaires dans le Sud.

Active Circle – Motivate Canada
En 2007, la fondation a financé le programme Active Circle (par l’entremise de Motivate Canada) pour aider 40 collectivités autochtones à mettre sur pied des programmes sportifs communautaires.

En plus de ces subventions, plusieurs initiatives de la fondation, telles que GénieArts et Soutien aux aidants naturels, ont appuyé des projets et des communautés autochtones.

Ressources

  1. Same country: Same lands; 78 Countries Away par Cindy Blackstock dans The First Peoples Child & Family Review: Volume 2, Issue 1 (2005)
La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6