Arts and Social Inclusion

Arts and Social Inclusion

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation’s Arts and Social Inclusion initiative draws on lessons and insights from over fifteen years’ experience in supporting arts’ role in catalyzing social change.

In 1998, the Foundation founded ArtsSmarts, an initiative whose purpose was to protect the role of the arts in education by integrating art with the teaching of other subjects – using music to teach math for example, or mural making to study history. This award-winning initiative no longer exists as a national program, but is embedded in numerous partnerships among Ministries of Education, school boards, Arts Councils, galleries and so on, across Canada. We learned from ArtsSmarts that the arts can reveal new possibility and connections among people and communities; engage and validate those who feel marginalized; and bring qualities of imagination, diversity and perspective to public spaces and institutions. These are the very qualities that we seek to integrate and promote in the Arts and Social Inclusion initiative.

Recognizing that most arts funders focus on artistic excellence within particular forms, we do not hesitate to declare that our primary emphasis is on social engagement. Our experience is that this in turn produces work that is often of excellent quality and that might not have been produced otherwise.

Why do we do this? Poverty and social isolation engender a sense of invisibility, of not mattering. Providing access to the means of artistic expression can enable marginalized individuals and groups to feel valued and enabled, making them visible to themselves and to one another and to the broader society. Inclusion results in greater diversity. A civic ethos that reflects the diversity of cultural origins that make up our communities, and that makes room for the differently abled, contributes to a more socially productive and engaged citizenry. By creating trust and connections among people from all parts of the community; by posing questions about how things could be done differently; and by engaging institutions in creative renewal, socially-engaged arts engender civic resilience.

The initiative makes relatively few grants, and emphasizes those projects that are national in scope but locally accessible, or that are local in nature but have the potential for national impact. We also convene practitioners, thought leaders and funders at the national level, and support work that strengthens the connectedness and visibility of the socially engaged arts field.

(The Cities for People initiative includes a socially-engaged arts component).

Granting Total to Date

$4,710,000

Arts and Social Inclusion Granting Summary

 

Organization Dates Amount
ArtBridges — for the support of national community-engaged arts networks 2013 – 2015 295,000
Judith Marcuse Projects/International Centre of Art and Social Change — for the creation of a national network of academics and practitioners working in the field of socially engaged arts 2013 – 2018 125,000
Culture pour tous — for the introduction of ‘cultural mediation’ in Quebec communities 2012 – 2015 500,000
Culture Days — for the support of a learning network to accompany this national arts showcase 2012 – 2015 750,000
Jumblies Theatre — for the support of disseminating an approach to community engaged theatre 2012 – 2015 320,000
Wapikoni Mobile — for the expansion across Canada of this Quebec-based film and music production program for Indigenous youth 2012 – 2015 520,000
La Ruche d’Art (Concordia University) — for the documentation and distribution of a model for university-linked community arts studios 2012 – 2015 300,000
National Theatre School of Canada — for the support of establishing the Cultural and Artistic Leadership Program (CALP)/Theatre Engaging Communities Program (TEC), an endowment to support graduates’ work across Canada 2011 – 2015 1,455,000
National Arts Centre Foundation — for supporting the exploration of a national Sistema music program 2012 – 2013 95,300
Exeko — for supporting idAction Mobile, a culturally based intervention with the homeless 2011 – 2012 150,000
New Brunswick Youth Orchestra — to support the introduction of the El Sistema music program in NB and Canada 2010 – 2013 200,000

 

Photos courtesy of: Kathleen Fleitas/Jumblies, Sistema New Brunswick, Karl Ang/National Theatre School of Canada, Marc Andre Goulet/Exeko

 

The J.W. McConnell Family Foundation 1002 Sherbrooke W., Suite 1800, Montreal, Québec H3A 3L6

Les arts et l’inclusion sociale

Les arts et l’inclusion sociale

L’initiative en matière d’art et d’inclusion sociale de la fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell s’appuie sur les leçons et les connaissances apprises durant plus de quinze ans à faire la promotion de l’art en tant que catalyseur de changement social.

En 1998, la fondation a créé GénieArts, une initiative visant à protéger le rôle de l’art dans le domaine de l’éducation en l’intégrant à d’autres matières, par exemple, en utilisant la musique pour enseigner les mathématiques ou en faisant une murale pour étudier l’histoire. Ce programme primé n’existe plus à l’échelle nationale, mais il est incorporé à de nombreux partenariats entre les ministères de l’Éducation, les conseils scolaires, les conseils des arts, les musées, etc., d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. GénieArts nous a notamment appris que l’art peut révéler de nouvelles possibilités et connexions entre les gens et les communautés; mobiliser et légitimer ceux qui se sentent marginalisés; et apporter imagination, diversité et perspective aux espaces et aux institutions publics. Voilà les aspects que nous désirons intégrer et promouvoir à l’aide de l’initiative en matière d’art et d’inclusion sociale.

Conscients que la plupart des bailleurs de fonds s’appuient sur l’excellence au sein de pratiques artistiques spécifiques, nous déclarons sans la moindre hésitation que notre principal objectif est l’engagement social. L’expérience nous a d’ailleurs démontré que cela produit souvent des œuvres d’excellente qualité qui n’auraient peut-être pas vu le jour autrement.

Pourquoi faisons-nous cela? La pauvreté et l’isolement social engendrent un sentiment d’invisibilité, d’insignifiance. En leur donnant accès à des outils d’expression artistique, on peut aider des personnes et des groupes marginalisés à se sentir valorisés et compétents, à les rendre visibles entre eux ainsi qu'aux uns aux autres et à l’ensemble de la société. L’inclusion engendre une plus grande diversité. Un éthos civique qui reflète la diversité de ses origines culturelles et qui fait une place aux aptitudes différentes favorise la productivité et l’engagement social au sein de la population. En établissant la confiance ainsi que des liens entre les gens issus de toutes les couches de la société, en demandant comment on pourrait faire les choses différemment, et en appelant les institutions au renouvellement créatif, l’art socialement engagé engendre également la résilience civique.

Accordant relativement peu de subventions, l’initiative favorise les projets qui ont une portée nationale tout en étant accessibles localement, ou qui sont de nature locale mais ont un impact potentiellement national. Nous rassemblons également des praticiens, des leaders d’opinion et des bailleurs de fonds au niveau national, et appuyons les projets qui renforcent la connexité et la visibilité des arts socialement engagés.

(L’initiative Des villes pour tous comprend un volet d’art socialement engagé.)

Subventions accordées à ce jour

4 710 000 $

Sommaire des subventions en matière d’art et inclusion sociale

Organisation Dates Montant
ToileDesArts — pour soutenir des réseaux nationaux d’art communautaire 2013 – 2015 295,000
Judith Marcuse Projects/International Centre of Art and Social Change — pour créer un réseau national de théoriciens et de praticiens œuvrant dans le domaine de l’art socialement engagé 2013 – 2018 125,000
Culture pour tous — pour implanter la médiation culturelle dans les communautés québécoises 2012 – 2015 500,000
Fête de la culture — pour soutenir un réseau d’apprentissage accompagnant cette vitrine nationale pour les arts 2012 – 2015 750,000
Jumblies Theatre — pour soutenir la diffusion d’une approche de théâtre engagé 2012 – 2015 320,000
Wapikoni Mobile — pour étendre à tout le Canada ce programme de production de cinéma et de musique pour les jeunes des Premières Nations 2012 – 2015 520,000
La Ruche d’Art (Université Concordia) — pour documenter et distribuer un modèle de studio d’art communautaire rattaché à une université 2012 – 2015 300,000
École nationale de théâtre du Canada — pour soutenir la mise en œuvre du programme Leadership artistique et culturel (PLAC)/du programme Théâtre et engagement communautaire (TEC), un fonds pour soutenir le travail des diplômés partout au Canada 2011 – 2015 1,455,000
Fondation du Centre national des arts du Canada — pour soutenir l’exploration d’un programme de musique El Sistema à l’échelle nationale 2012 – 2013 95,300
Exeko — pour soutenir idAction Mobile, un programme de médiation culturelle auprès des itinérants 2011 – 2012 150,000
Orchestre des jeunes du Nouveau-Brunswick — pour soutenir l’implantation du programme de musique El Sistema au N.-B. et au Canada 2010 – 2013 200,000

 

 

Références photographiques par: Kathleen Fleitas/Jumblies, Sistema Nouveau-Brunswick, Karl Ang/l’École nationale de théâtre, Marc Andre Goulet/Exeko

 

La fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell 1002 Sherbrooke Ouest, Suite 1800, Montréal, Québec H3A 3L6